MobiDE 2007
Sixth International ACM Workshop on Data Engineering for Wireless and Mobile Access
June 10th, 2007, Beijing, China (in conjunction with SIGMOD/PODS 2007)
Call for Papers
>> pdf, text
Topics of Interest
Conference info:
Previous workshops:
MobiDE 2006
MobiDE 2005
MobiDE 2003
MobiDE 2001
MobiDE 1999

Preliminary Call for Papers  

                 C A L L   F O R   P A P E R S

           6th ACM International Workshop on Data Engineering
              for Wireless and Mobile Access (MobiDE'07)

           Sunday, June 10, 2007 / Beijing, China
                 (colocated with ACM SIGMOD/PODS 2007)



This is the sixth of a successful series of workshops that aim to bring
together the data management, wireless networking, and mobile computing 

The  1st MobiDE  workshop  took  place in  Seattle  (August 1999),  in
conjunction with MobiCom  1999; the 2nd MobiDE workshop  took place in
Santa Barbara  (May 2001), together  with SIGMOD 2001; the  3rd MobiDE
workshop  took place  in  San Diego  (September  2003), together  with
MobiCom  2003; the  4th MobiDE  workshop was  held in  Baltimore (June
2005), in conjunction with SIGMOD 2005; and the 5th MobiDE workshop was
held in  Chicago (June 2006), in conjunction with SIGMOD 2006.  

The workshop will  serve as a forum for  researchers and technologists
to discuss the state-of-the-art,  present their contributions, and set
future directions in data management for mobile and wireless access.

The topics of interest related to mobile and wireless data engineering
include, but are not limited to:

* ad-hoc networked databases
* consistency maintenance and management
* context-aware data access and query processing
* data caching, replication and view materialization
* data publication modes: push, broadcast, and multicast
* data server models and architectures
* database issues for moving objects: storage, indexing, etc.
* m-commerce
* mobile agent models and languages
* mobile database security
* mobile databases in scientific, medical, and engineering applications
* mobile peer-to-peer applications and services
* mobile sensor networks
* mobile transaction models and management
* mobile web services
* mobility awareness and adaptability
* pervasive computing
* prototype design of mobile database
* quality of service for mobile database
* sensor network data management
* transaction migration, recovery and commit processing
* wireless multimedia systems
* wireless web

The workshop  will be organized  in a manner that  fosters interaction
and  exchange   of  ideas  among  the   participants.   Besides  paper
presentations,  time  will be  allocated  to  open discussion  forums,
informal discussions, or panels. In addition to regular papers, vision
or work-in-progress papers that have the potential to stimulate debate
on existing  solutions or  open challenges are  especially encouraged.
Proposals  for panels  on newly-emerging  or controversial  topics are
also especially welcome.

Abstract Submissions: 	Mon, April 2, 2007 (Midnight Pacific Time)
Regular Paper Submissions: Mon, April 2, 2007 (Midnight Pacific Time)
Notification of acceptance: 	Sat, Apr 21, 2007
Camera-ready version due: 	Fri, May 4, 2007
Workshop date: 		Sun, Jun 10, 2007

The workshop proceedings will be published by ACM. Electronic versions
of the papers will be included in the ACM DL and DiSC'08.

All of the submissions will be handled electronically. Each paper will
be   reviewed   by   at   least   three   members   of   the   program
committee. Detailed  submission information will be posted  on the web
site of the workshop (

Full research papers should be formatted in the ACM proceedings format
and be at most 8 double-columned pages in 9pt font.


Workshop Chairs: 
   Peter Scheuermann		    	
   Electrical & Computer Engineering Department
   Northwestern University

   Wang-Chien Lee
   Department of Computer Science & Engineering
   Pennsylvania State University

Program Chairs:
   George Samaras 	
   Department of Computer Science 
   University of Cyprus

   Dik Lun Lee
   Department of Computer Science & Engineering
   Hong Kong University of Science & Technology

Publicity Chair:

   Magdalena Balazinska
   Dept of Computer Science and Engineering
   University of Washington


   Sujata Banerjee, HP Labs
   Ugur Cetintemel, Brown University
   Mitch Cherniack, Brandeis University
   Panos K. Chrysanthis, University of Pittsburgh
   Alexandros Labrinidis, University of Pittsburgh
   Evaggelia Pitoura, University of Ioannina


 Amr El Abbadi, University of California, Santa Barbara, USA
Walid Aref, Purdue University, USA
Sujata Banerjee, HP Labs, USA
Christian Becker, University of Stuttgart, Germany
Claudio Bettini, University of Milan, Italy
Stefan Bottcher, University of Paderborn, Germany
Alex Delis, University of Athens, Greece
Takahiro Hara, Osaka University, Japan
Valerie Issarny, INRIA, France
Christian Jensen, Aalborg University, Denmark
Masaru Kitsuregawa, University of Tokyo, Japan
Birgitta Konig-Ries, Institut fur Informatik, Friedrich-Schiller-Universitat Jena
Vijay Kumar, University Of Missouri-Kansas city, USA
Alexandros Labrinidis, University of Pittsburgh, USA
Mong Li Lee, National University of Singapore, Singapore
Hui Lei, IBM T. J. Watson Research Center, USA
Ling Liu, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
Pedro Jose Marron, University of Stuttgart, Germany
Xiaofeng Men, Renmin University of China
Anirban Mondal, University of Tokyo, Japan
Evi Pitoura, University of Ioannina, Greece
Andreas Pitsillides, University of Cyprus, Cyprus
Claudia Lucia, Roncancio Lab. LSR-IMAG/University of Grenoble, France
Simonas Saltenis, Aalborg University, Denmark
George Samaras, University of Cyprus, Cyprus
Ichiro Satoh, NII, Japan
Timos Sellis, National Technical University of Athens, Greece
Jianwen Su, University of California, Santa Barbara, USA
Makoto Takizawa, Tokyo Denki University, Japan
Yufei Tao, City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Goce Trajcevski, Northwestern University, USA
Vassilis Tsotras, University of California, Riverside, USA
Anthony K H Tung, National University of Singapore, Singapore
Wai Gen Yee, Illinois Institute of Technology, Chicago, USA
Vladimir Zadorozhny, University of Pittsburgh, USA
Arkady Zaslavsky, Monash University, Australia
Demetris Zeinalipour, University of Cyprus, Cyprus
Donghui Zhang, Northeastern University, USA