CMPSC 465 Data Structures and Algorithms
Fall 2009

Welcome to the course web page for CMPSC 465!

Course Staff

Office Phone Email @psu.edu Office Hours
Prof. Adam D. Smith IST 338K x3-0076 asmith+465 Tue. 4-5pm
Wed. 3:45pm-5pm
T.A. Abhradeep Guha Thakurta IST 357 azg161+465 Thu. 5-7pm

Announcements

August 24, 2009
First lecture in 373 Willard!

Handouts

  1. Important: course logistics pdf

Lecture notes, syllabus, etc.

Lec.DateNotesTopicsReading (numbers marked 2e
refer to the second edition)
Homework
1Mon, Aug. 24pdf Introduction CLRS Ch. 1,2.1,2.2HW 1 out: pdf, tex
2Wed. Aug. 26 pdf Insertion sort analysis CLRS Ch. 2.1-2.2,
Levitin Ch. 1 (on Angel)
3Fri., Aug. 28 pdf Asymptotic growth of functions CLRS Chap. 3 HW 2 out: pdf, tex
4Mon, Aug. 31 pdf More on asymptotic growth
5Wed. Sep. 2 pdf Divide and Conquer: Merge-Sort CLRS Ch. 2
6Fri. Sep. 4 pdf More divide and conquer, recurrence trees CLRS Chap. 4.4 (2e: 4.2) HW 3 out: pdf, tex
7Wed. Sep. 9 pdf More divide and conquer: Karatsuba -
8Fri. Sep. 11 pdf Recurrences: Substitution methodCLRS Chap. 4.3 (2e: 4.1)HW 4 out: pdf, tex
9Mon. Sep. 14 pdf Recurrences: Master theoremCLRS Chap. 4.5 (2e: 4.3)
10Wed. Sep. 16 pdf Basic data structuresCLRS Chap. 10.1 to 10.3Programming assignment on Angel
11Fri. Sep. 18 pdf Heaps introductionCLRS Chap. 6.1, 6.2HW 5 out: pdf, tex
12Mon. Sep. 21Heaps continuedCLRS Chap. 6
13 Wed. Sep. 23 pdf Trees; Binary Search TreesCLRS Chap. 10.4 and 12.1 to 12.3
14Fri. Sep. 25More binary search trees
15 Mon. Sep. 28 Review
16 Wed. Sep. 30 Review
Thu. Oct 1Midterm 1 in 10 Sparks at 8:15pm
17 Fri. Oct. 1 Red-Black Trees, part 1CLRS Chap. 13.1-13.2 HW 6 out: pdf, tex
18 Mon. Oct. 5 Red-Black Trees, part 2CLRS Chap. 13.3
19 Wed. Oct. 7 Augmented Data Structures: OS treesCLRS Chap. 14HW 7 out: pdf, tex
20 Mon. Oct. 12 Augmented Data Structures: Interval TreesCLRS Chap. 14
21 Wed. Oct. 14 Graphs intro CLRS Appendix B.2
22 Fri. Oct. 16 Breadth-first search CLRS Chap 22.1-2 HW 8 out: pdf, tex
20 Mon. Oct. 19 More breadth-first searchCLRS Chap. 22.2
21 Wed. Oct. 21 Depth-first search CLRS Chap. 22.3
22 Fri. Oct. 23 Midterm discussion- HW 9 out: pdf, tex
20 Mon. Oct. 26 Topological Sorting; Strongly Connected ComponentsCLRS Chap. 22.4
21 Wed. Oct. 28 Strongly Connected Components CLRS 22.5
22 Fri. Oct. 30 Shortest paths: Dijkstra's algorithmCLRS Chap. 24.3
End of Midterm 2 material
20 Mon. Nov. 2 Dijkstra: example + failure for negative weight edgesCLRS Chap. 24.3
21 Wed. Nov. 4 Minimum Spanning Trees, part 1 (basic properties) CLRS 23
Thu. Nov. 5Midterm 2 in 26 Hosler at 8:15pm
22 Fri. Nov. 6 Minimum Spanning Trees, part 2 (Prim's algorithm + examples) CLRS 23
23 Mon. Nov. 9 Greedy Algorithms: Interval Scheduling
24 Wed. Nov. 11 Greedy Algorithms: Interval Partitioning HW 10 out: pdf, tex
25 Fri. Nov. 13 Greedy Algorithms: Minimizing lateness
26 Mon. Nov. 16 Dynamic programming: Weighted Interval Scheduling
27 Wed. Nov. 18 Greedy Algorithms: Rod cutting
28 Fri. Nov. 20 Greedy Algorithms: Least Common Subsequence HW 11 out: pdf, tex

Miscellaneous

Latex
For tips on using latex to type homework, see these links. On Mac OS, I like emacs and Skim.

Adam Smith
Last modified: Fri Nov 20 23:18:21 EST 2009