Conference Program


Local Arrangements

Call For papers (pdf)

Conference and workshop schedule

Conference Organizers

SIGPLAN awards

Important dates

Hotel registration deadline 28 December 2009 (Monday)
Early registration deadline 22 December 2009 (Tuesday)
Registration URL http://www.regonline.com/popl2010
Conference 20-22 January (Wednesday-Friday) 2010


The annual Symposium on Principles of Programming Languages is a forum for the discussion of all aspects of programming languages and systems, with emphasis on how principles underpin practice. Both theoretical and experimental papers are welcome, on topics ranging from formal frameworks to experience reports.


The conference program is now out.

Local arrangements and visa information

Information on the conference hotel, travel and local tourist attractions, and visa support is available here.

Student Attendees

Students with accepted papers or posters are encouraged to apply for a SIGPLAN PAC grant that will help to cover travel expenses to POPL. Details on the PAC program and the application can be found here. PAC also offers support for companion travel.

Colocated conference and workshops

The events co-located with POPL 2010 are:

  • International Conference on Verification, Model Checking, and Abstract Interpretation ( VMCAI 2010)
  • Workshop on Functional and (Constraint) Logic Programming (WFLP 2010)
  • Workshop on Partial Evaluation and Program Manipulation ( PEPM 2010)
  • Symposium on Practical Aspects of Declarative Languages ( PADL 2010)
  • Workshop on Types in Language Design and Implementation ( TLDI 2010)
  • Workshop on Programming Languages meets Program Verification (PLPV 2010)
  • Workshop on Declarative Aspects of Multicore Programming ( DAMP 2010)


General Chair: Manuel Hermenegildo
Director, IMDEA-Software
Full Professor, C.S. Department, T.U. of Madrid (UPM), Spain


Program Chair:


Jens Palsberg
Professor, UCLA Computer Science Department
4531K Boelter Hall
Los Angeles, CA 90095, USA


Local Arrangements Chair:


Manuel Clavel
Deputy Director, IMDEA Software
Associate Professor, C.S. Department, University Complutense of Madrid (UCM), Spain


Program Committee:

Alex Aiken Stanford University
Rajeev Alur University of Pennsylvania
Cristiano Calcagno Imperial College, London
Juan Chen Microsoft Research
Wei-Ngan Chin National University of Singapore
Mads Dam Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm
Erik Ernst Aarhus University
John Field IBM T. J. Watson Research Center
Cormac Flanagan UC Santa Cruz
Roberto Giacobazzi Universita' degli Studi di Verona
Rachid Guerraoui EPFL
Sorin Lerner UC San Diego
Calvin Lin University of Texas, Austin
Atsushi Ohori Tohoku University
Jens Palsberg UCLA
Andrey Rybalchenko         Max Planck Institute for Software Systems
Amr Sabry Indiana University
Mooly Sagiv Tel-Aviv University
Peter Sewell University of Cambridge
Tayssir Touili CNRS-LIAFA


Workshops Chair:


Yitzhak Mandelbaum
AT&T Research




Bor-Yuh Evan Chang
University of Colorado, Boulder

Jeff Foster
University of Maryland




Swarat Chaudhuri
Pennsylvania State University


POPL Logo:


Jan Christiansen
Christian-Albrechts University, Kiel